Skip to content

Le pronom “en”

November 5, 2012

The French pronoun “en” should not be confused with the preposition “en”  !!

  • Ex : J’habite en France. (I live in France.) → préposition
  • ≠ Ex : J’en veux ! (I want some !) → pronom

I. The pronoun “en” replaces DIRECT OBJECTS expressing a QUANTITY. They can be introduced by :

1. A number “un/une”, “deux”, “trois” etc.

  • J’ai une voiture. → J’en ai une.
  • Elle a quatre frères. → Elle en a quatre.

2. An indefinite article.

  • J’ai des idées. → J’en ai.

3. A partitive article (“du”, “de la”, “de l'”).

  • J’ai de l’argent. → J’en ai.

4. An adverb of a quantity.

  • J’ai beaucoup d’argent. → J’en ai beaucoup.
  • J’ai peu d’argent. → J’en ai peu.
  • Tu bois trop de café. → Tu en bois trop.

5. Any noun expressing a quantity.

  • Je voudrais un kilo de tomates. → J’en voudrais un kilo.

II. The pronoun « en » also replaces INDIRECT OBJECTS starting with « de » when the object is a THING :

  • Il parle de son travail tout le temps. → Il en parle tout le temps.

When the indirect object is a PERSON, then, « de » + the corresponding disjunctive pronoun are used :

  • Il parle de sa sœur tout le temps. → Il parle tout le temps d’elle

III. Finally, the pronoun « en » also replaces « compléments de lieu » starting with « de » :

  • Il revient de la banque. → Il en revient.

Version PDF

To make it short :

→ “en” can replace almost any noun introduced by de/du/des

Placement in the sentence :

  • In a negative sentence : just after “ne” : Je n’en ai pas.
  • With the “passé composé” : just before the auxiliary : J’en ai pris.
  • With the “future proche” and verbs like “vouloir”, “pouvoir” etc : just before the infinitive action verb : Je vais en prendre. Je veux en prendre.

With the imperative mood :

See the article : L’impératif

***

ONLINE EXERCISES

Leave a Reply

