Skip to content

Le Déjeuner du matin, a poem by Jacques Prévert

March 22, 2012

Jacques Prévert (1900-1977) is French poet and screenwriter. He has been associated with the Surrealist movement. He used to write in a very simple language, which made him very popular among French children.

Le Déjeuner du matin was written in 1946. Here are different interpretations. Pay a particular attention to the verbs in the “passé composé”.

***

***

Déjeuner du matin
Il a mis le café
Dans la tasse
Il a mis le lait
Dans la tasse de café
Il a mis le sucre
Dans le café au lait
Avec la petite cuiller
Il a tourné
Il a bu le café au lait
Et il a reposé la tasse
Sans me parler
Il a allumé
Une cigarette
Il a fait des ronds
Avec la fumée
Il a mis les cendres
Dans le cendrier
Sans me parler
Sans me regarder
Il s’est levé
Il a mis
Son chapeau sur sa tête
Il a mis
Son manteau de pluie
Parce qu’il pleuvait
Et il est parti
Sous la pluie
Sans une parole
Sans me regarder
Et moi j’ai pris
Ma tête dans mes mains
Et j’ai pleuré.
Breakfast
He poured the coffee 
Into the cup 
He put the milk 
Into the cup of coffee 
He put the sugar 
Into the coffee with milk 
With a small spoon 
He stirred 
He drank the coffee 
And he put down the cup 
Without speaking to me 
He lighted 
A cigarette 
He made circles 
With the smoke 
He shook off the ash 
Into the ashtray 
Without speaking to me 
Without looking at me 
He got up 
He put 
A hat on his head 
He put on 
A raincoat 
Because it was raining 
And he left 
In the rain 
Without a word 
Without looking at me 
And I buried 
My face in my hands 
And I cried.
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

