Skip to content

Plaire / faire plaisir

January 23, 2012

Here are two idiomatic expressions, which seem similar, but which have  a slightly different meaning :

  • Ça me plaît.
  • Ça me fait plaisir.
When one say “ça me plaît” it means “j’aime ça” : he likes this.
When one say “ça me fait plaisir” it means “je suis content” : he  is happy.
– Tu aimes le nouveau film de Tom Cruise ? (Do you like Tom Cruise’s new movie ?)
– Ah , oui ! il me plaît beaucoup ! (Yes, I like it very much !)
– J’ai acheté le DVD. Tu es content ? (I bought the DVD. Are you happy ?)
– Ah, oui ! ça me fait très plaisir ! (Yes, very !)
Note that with “ça/il/elle me plaît”, the adverb “beaucoup” is used, but with “ça/il/elle me fait très plaisir” it is “très” which is used. 
To say “I am happy to see you.” you will say : “Je suis content de te voir / ça me fait plaisir de te voir“.
Regarding the conjugation, note that you write “il plaît” with a circumflex accent, but in the plural you write “ils plaisent” without circumflex accent. Like for the verb “connaître” the circumflex accent is there only for the 3rd person of singular : il connaît, il plaît.
***
One Comment
  1. literaryperception permalink

    Reblogged this on literaryperception.

Leave a Reply

